© 2018 MHOC Parish | Privacy Policy


Some Q and A's

What is a Sacrament? 

Sacraments are central for Catholics. The word Sacrament comes from the latin sacramentum, meaning "a sign of the sacred". There are seven sacraments created by Christ which the Catholic Church celebrate. The seven are Baptism, Confirmation, Eucharist, Reconciliation, Matrimony, Anointing of the Sick and Holy Orders.


Why do Catholics believe that the Catholic Church is the one true Church founded by Jesus nearly 2000 years ago? 

The Catholic Church is the only church which can make this claim as Jesus handed the authority to guide the Church in His name to Peter and the apostles, to be passed down through the centuries. Matthew 16:18 reveals this in the words “And I tell you, you are Peter, and on this rock I will build my church, and the powers of death shall not prevail against it.”


Where does the Pope get his authority to the lead the Catholic Church? 

Again Matthew 16:18 is vital to understanding where the Pope obtains his authority. Peter was the first pope of the Catholic Church.


Why do Catholics emphasise Mary so much? 

Catholics do not worship Mary as worship is due to God alone. Catholics venerate Mary. By venerate we mean honour our Blessed Mother with great reverence and devotion as she is the Mother of God. Mary is the model of perfect love to Christ. God preserved Mary from sin, and she conceived our Lord by the power of the Holy Spirit, bringing Christ into our world. Catholics can’t help but honour the Blessed Virgin Mary, who is full of grace, the Mother of God and our Mother, for her “yes” to God that made the Incarnation possible. And without the Incarnation, we would not have salvation.

Wrong password.